Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of México

Archidioecesis Mexicana

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Carlos Aguiar Retes, Cardinal, Archbishop
  • Carlos Briseño Arch, O.A.R., Auxiliary Bishop
  • Adolfo Miguel Castaño Fonseca, Auxiliary Bishop
  • Florencio Armando Colin Cruz, Auxiliary Bishop
  • Rogelio Esquivel Medina, Auxiliary Bishop
  • Jorge Estrada Solórzano, Auxiliary Bishop
  • Jesús Antonio Lerma Nolasco, Auxiliary Bishop
  • Antonio Ortega Franco, C.O., Auxiliary Bishop
  • Andrés Vargas Peña, Auxiliary Bishop
  • Norberto Rivera Carrera, Cardinal, Archbishop Emeritus
  • Abelardo Alvarado Alcántara, Auxiliary Bishop Emeritus
  • José Luis Fletes Santana, Auxiliary Bishop Emeritus
  • Francisco Clavel Gil, Auxiliary Bishop Emeritus

Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 12 February 1546
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • State: Federal District
  • Country: México
  • Square Kilometers: 1,429 (551 Square Miles)
  • Conference Region: Metropolitana
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Curia Arzobispal, Durango 90, Col. Roma, 06700 México, D.F., México
  • Telephone: (55)5208-3200; 5208-2960
  • Fax: 5208-5350

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Diocese of México
2 September 1530ErectedDiocese of Tlaxcala (Puebla de los Angeles) Diocese of México (erected)
11 August 1536Territory LostDiocese of México Diocese of Michoacán (erected)
Archdiocese of México
12 February 1546ElevatedDiocese of México Archdiocese of México
6 February 1579Territory LostArchdiocese of México Diocese of Manila (erected)
26 January 1863Territory LostDiocese of Michoacán
Archdiocese of México
Diocese of Querétaro (erected)
26 January 1863Territory LostArchdiocese of México Diocese of Tulancingo (erected)
16 March 1863Territory LostArchdiocese of Michoacán
Archdiocese of México
Diocese of Tlaxcala (Puebla de los Angeles)
Diocese of Chilapa (erected)
12 March 1870Territory LostArchdiocese of México
Diocese of Tlaxcala (Puebla de los Angeles)
Vicariate Apostolic of Tamaulipas
Diocese of Ciudad Victoria-Tamaulipas (erected)
20 January 1874Territory LostArchdiocese of México Vicariate Apostolic of California Inferiore (erected)
23 June 1891Territory LostArchdiocese of México Diocese of Cuernavaca (erected)
4 June 1950Territory LostArchdiocese of México Diocese of Toluca (erected)
23 May 1959Territory LostArchdiocese of México
Archdiocese of Puebla de los Ángeles, Puebla
Diocese of Tlaxcala (erected)
30 April 1960Territory LostArchdiocese of México Diocese of Texcoco (erected)
27 February 1961Territory LostArchdiocese of México
Diocese of Tulancingo
Diocese of Tula (erected)
13 January 1964Territory LostArchdiocese of México
Diocese of Texcoco
Diocese of Tlalnepantla (erected)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Archdiocese of México

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2018
Code: web_d, v3.2.5, 5 Oct 2018; Data: 5 Oct 2018