Catholic-Hierarchy DC

23rd day of May

Diocese Events

See Also: Bishop Events

1861Diocese of Hexham, England, Great Britain Name ChangedDiocese of Hexham and Newcastle, England, Great Britain Name Changed
1898Vicariate Apostolic of New Pomerania, Papua New Guinea Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of German Solomon Islands, Papua New Guinea Erected
1910Diocese of Amazonas, Brazil Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Alto Solimões, Brazil
Prefecture Apostolic of Tefé, Brazil
1926Pontifical Institute for Foreign Missions United
1930Archdiocese of Warszawa {Warsaw}, Poland (Albertòw and Jankówek) Territory LostDiocese of Łódź, Poland Territory Added
1933Vicariate Apostolic of Bangueolo, Zambia (South and East)
Vicariate Apostolic of Nyassa, Malawi (North)
Territory LostMission "Sui Iuris" of Loangwa, Zambia Erected
1933Vicariate Apostolic of Antsirabé, Madagascar (Boundaries adjusted) Territory Added
1942Diocese of Pécs, Hungary (Antalfala and Antalpuszta) Territory LostDiocese of Veszprém, Hungary Territory Added
1943Diocese of Arequipa, Peru ElevatedArchdiocese of Arequipa, Peru Elevated
1943Diocese of Cuzco, Peru ElevatedArchdiocese of Cuzco, Peru Elevated
1943Diocese of Trujillo, Peru ElevatedArchdiocese of Trujillo, Peru Elevated
1943Diocese of Puno, Peru (from Lima to Arequipa) Metropolitan Changed
1943Diocese of Ayacucho o Huamanga (Guamanga), Peru (from Lima to Cuzco) Metropolitan Changed
1943Diocese of Cajamarca, Peru (from Lima to Trujillo) Metropolitan Changed
1943Diocese of Chachapoyas, Peru (from Lima to Trujillo) Metropolitan Changed
1943Diocese of Piura, Peru (from Lima to Trujillo) Metropolitan Changed
1959Diocese of Tehuantepec, Oaxaca, México (Coatzacoalcos, Moloacán, Hidalgotitlán, Jáltipan de Morelos, Cosoleacaque, Texistepec, Oluta, Jésus Carranza, San Juan Evangelista, Mecayapan, Hueyapan de Ocampo, San Andrés Tuxtla, Playa Vicente, Chacaltianguis, and Tlacojalpan)
Archdiocese of Veracruz-Jalapa, México (Acula, Amatitlán, Ixmatlahuacan, Tlacotalpan, Saltabarranca, Lerdo de Tejada, and part of Cosamaloapan)
Territory LostDiocese of San Andrés Tuxtla, Veracruz, México Erected
1959Archdiocese of México, Federal District (Tlaxcala)
Archdiocese of Puebla de los Ángeles, México (Tlaxcala)
Territory LostDiocese of Tlaxcala, México Erected
1959Archdiocese of Antequera, Oaxaca, México (Yautepec, Mixes, and Choápa) Territory LostDiocese of Tehuantepec, Oaxaca, México Territory Added
1970Diocese of Campeche, México
Archdiocese of Yucatán, México
Territory LostTerritorial Prelature of Chetumal, Quintana Roo, México (Quintana Roo) Erected
1978Archdiocese of Milano {Milan}, Italy (Frazione Riozzo from Natività di San Giovanni Battista in Melegnano in Cerro al Lambro) Territory LostDiocese of Lodi, Italy Territory Added
1992Nunciature to Armenia Established
1992Nunciature to Azerbaijan Established
1992Nunciature to Georgia Established
1992Nunciature to Moldova, Republic of Established
2008Diocese of Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia ElevatedArchdiocese of Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia Elevated
2008Diocese of Keningau, Malaysia (from Kuching) Metropolitan Changed
2008Diocese of Sandakan, Malaysia (from Kuching) Metropolitan Changed


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_e, v3.2.3, 8 Feb 2020; Data: 9 Jun 2024