Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of São Paulo

Archidioecesis Sancti Pauli in Brasilia

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Odilo Pedro Scherer, Cardinal, Archbishop
  • José Benedito Cardoso, Auxiliary Bishop
  • Luiz Carlos Dias, Auxiliary Bishop
  • Carlos Lema Garcia, Auxiliary Bishop
  • Ângelo Ademir Mezzari, R.C.J., Auxiliary Bishop
  • Jorge Pierozan, Auxiliary Bishop
  • Carlos Silva, O.F.M. Cap., Auxiliary Bishop

Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 7 June 1908
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • State: Sao Paulo
  • Country: Brazil
  • Square Kilometers: 655 (252 Square Miles)
  • Conference Region: Sul 1
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Curia Metropolitana, Av. Higienopolis 890, 01238-000 Sao Paulo, SP, Brazil
  • Telephone: (011)3660-3700

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Diocese of São Paulo
6 December 1745ErectedDiocese of São Sebastião do Rio de Janeiro Territorial Prelature of Cuiabá (erected)
Territorial Prelature of Goiás (erected)
Diocese of Mariana (erected)
Diocese of São Paulo (erected)
27 April 1892Territory LostDiocese of São Paulo Diocese of Curitiba (erected)
8 September 1907Territory LostDiocese of São Paulo Diocese of Campanha (erected)
7 June 1908Territory LostDiocese of São Paulo Diocese of Botucatu (erected)
Diocese of Campinas (erected)
Diocese of Ribeirão Preto (erected)
Diocese of São Carlos do Pinhal (erected)
Diocese of Taubaté (erected)
Archdiocese of São Paulo
7 June 1908ElevatedDiocese of São Paulo Archdiocese of São Paulo
4 July 1924Territory LostArchdiocese of São Paulo Diocese of Santos (erected)
4 July 1924Territory LostDiocese of Botucatu
Archdiocese of São Paulo
Diocese of Taubaté
Diocese of Sorocaba (erected)
24 July 1925Territory LostDiocese of Campinas
Archdiocese of São Paulo
Diocese of Bragança Paulista (erected)
18 July 1954Territory LostArchdiocese of São Paulo Diocese of Santo André (erected)
19 April 1958Territory LostArchdiocese of São Paulo
Diocese of Taubaté
Archdiocese of Aparecida (erected)
9 June 1962Territory LostArchdiocese of São Paulo
Diocese of Taubaté
Diocese of Mogi das Cruzes (erected)
7 November 1966Territory LostArchdiocese of Campinas
Archdiocese of São Paulo
Diocese of Jundiaí (erected)
15 March 1989Territory LostArchdiocese of São Paulo Diocese of Campo Limpo (erected)
Diocese of Osasco (erected)
Diocese of São Miguel Paulista (erected)
Diocese of Santo Amaro (erected)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Archdiocese of São Paulo

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Diocese of São Paulo
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 6, Page 331


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2021
Code: web_d, v3.3.7, 8 May 2021; Data: 18 Aug 2021