Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Baltimore

Archidioecesis Baltimorensis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • William Edward Lori, Archbishop
  • Bruce Alan Lewandowski, C.Ss.R., Auxiliary Bishop
  • Adam John Parker, Auxiliary Bishop
  • Denis James Madden, Auxiliary Bishop Emeritus

Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Split: 15 November 1947
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • State: Maryland
  • Country: United States of America
  • Square Kilometers: 12,430 (4,801 Square Miles)
  • Description: Allegany, Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett, Harford, Howard, and Washington Counties and the City of Baltimore.
  • Conference Region: IV (DC, DE, MD, VA, VI, WV)
  • Catholic Directory Abbreviation: BAL
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Catholic Center, 320 Cathedral Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, USA
  • Telephone: (410)547-5446
  • Fax: 727-8234

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Prefecture Apostolic of United States of America
26 November 1784ErectedVicariate Apostolic of London District Prefecture Apostolic of United States of America (erected)
Diocese of Baltimore
6 November 1789ErectedPrefecture Apostolic of United States of America (Name Changed and Prelature raised to a Diocese) Diocese of Baltimore (erected)
8 April 1808Territory LostDiocese of Baltimore Diocese of Boston (erected) (Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Connecticut, and Vermont)
Diocese of Bardstown (erected)
Diocese of New York (erected) (State of New York plus Sussex, Bergen, Morris, Essex, Somerset, Middlesex, and Monmouth counties in New Jersey)
Diocese of Philadelphia (erected) (Pennsylvania, Delaware, and 7 counties of New Jersey)
Archdiocese of Baltimore
8 April 1808ElevatedDiocese of Baltimore Archdiocese of Baltimore
11 July 1820Territory LostArchdiocese of Baltimore Diocese of Charleston (erected)
Diocese of Richmond (erected) (Entire state of Virginia)
1 December 1843Territory LostArchdiocese of Baltimore
Archdiocese of Québec
Vicariate Apostolic of Oregon Territory (erected)
15 August 1858Territory LostArchdiocese of Baltimore Diocese of Richmond (Alexandria)
3 March 1868Territory LostArchdiocese of Baltimore
Diocese of Philadelphia
Diocese of Wilmington (erected)
Archdiocese of Baltimore-Washington
22 July 1939Name ChangedArchdiocese of Baltimore Archdiocese of Baltimore-Washington
Archdiocese of Baltimore
15 November 1947SplitArchdiocese of Baltimore-Washington Archdiocese of Baltimore
Archdiocese of Washington (District of Columbia plus Montgomery, Prince George, St. Mary's, Calvert, and Charles Counties in the State of Maryland)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Prefecture Apostolic of United States of America
Diocese of Baltimore
Archdiocese of Baltimore
Archdiocese of Baltimore-Washington
Archdiocese of Baltimore

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2021
Code: web_d, v3.3.6, 16 Apr 2021; Data: 30 Apr 2021