Catholic-Hierarchy DC

10th day of April

Diocese Events

See Also: Bishop Events

1690Vicariate Apostolic of Nanking [Nanjing], China ElevatedDiocese of Nanking [Nanjing], China Elevated
1690Diocese of Macau, China Territory LostDiocese of Peking [Beijing], China Erected
1859Diocese of Popayán, Colombia Territory LostDiocese of Pasto, Colombia Erected
1910Diocese of Jaro o Santa Elisabetta, Philippines Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Palawan, Philippines Erected
1910Diocese of Cebu, Philippines (Provinces of Samar and Leyte) Territory LostDiocese of Calbayog, Philippines Erected
1910Diocese of Nueva Caceres, Philippines
Archdiocese of Manila, Philippines
Territory LostDiocese of Lipa, Philippines Erected
1910Diocese of Nueva Segovia, Philippines Territory LostDiocese of Tuguegarao, Philippines Erected
1910Diocese of Cebu, Philippines
Diocese of Jaro o Santa Elisabetta, Philippines
Territory LostDiocese of Zamboanga, Philippines Erected
1929Vicariate Apostolic of Victoria-Nyanza, Tanzania Name ChangedVicariate Apostolic of Mwanza, Tanzania Name Changed
1931Vicariate Apostolic of Norvegia (e Spitzbergen) Name ChangedVicariate Apostolic of Oslo, Norway Name Changed
1947Diocese of Mysore, India (Mettur and Saveriarpalayam) Territory LostDiocese of Salem, India Territory Added
1957Diocese of Chihuahua, México (Praxedis Guerrero, Guadalupe, Ojinaga. Madera, Nuevo Casas Grandes, Casas Grandes, Ascensión, Janos, San Buenaventura, Galeana, Ignacio Zaragoza, Ahumada, Temosachic, Matachic, Namiquipa, Gómez Farias, Guerrero, Ocampo Moris, Juárez, Covarne and Benavides) Territory LostDiocese of Ciudad Juárez, Chihuahua, México Erected
1957Territorial Prelature of Santarém, Para, Brazil (Óbidos, Alenquer, Faro, Juruti, and Oriximiná) Territory LostTerritorial Prelature of Óbidos, Para, Brazil Erected
1961Diocese of Santiago del Estero, Argentina (Copo, Alberdi, Matará, Moreno, General Taboada, Belgrano, and parts of Figueroa) Territory LostDiocese of Añatuya, Argentina Erected
1961Archdiocese of La Plata, Argentina (Quilmes)
Diocese of Lomas de Zamora, Argentina (Avellaneda)
Territory LostDiocese of Avellaneda, Argentina Erected
1961Archdiocese of Paraná, Argentina (Concordia, Federación, and Colón) Territory LostDiocese of Concordia, Argentina Erected
1961Diocese of Corrientes, Argentina (Goya, Curuzú Cuatiá, Mercedes, Esquina, Lavalle, Sauce, Monte Caseros, Paso de los Libres, and San Martín) Territory LostDiocese of Goya, Argentina Erected
1961Diocese of Corrientes, Argentina ElevatedArchdiocese of Corrientes, Argentina Elevated
1961Diocese of Mendoza, Argentina Territory LostDiocese of San Rafael, Argentina Erected
1961Diocese of Viedma, Argentina Territory LostDiocese of Neuquén, Argentina Erected
1961Archdiocese of Salta, Argentina Territory LostDiocese of Orán, Argentina Erected
1961Diocese of Reconquista, Argentina (Department of Nueve de Julio)
Archdiocese of Santa Fe, Argentina (Departments of Castellano and San Cristóbal)
Territory LostDiocese of Rafaela, Argentina Erected
1961Diocese of Comodoro Rivadavia, Argentina Territory LostDiocese of Río Gallegos, Argentina Erected
1961Archdiocese of Córdoba, Argentina Territory LostDiocese of San Francisco, Argentina Erected
1961Diocese of Morón, Argentina (Partidos of General San Martín and 3 de Febrero)
Diocese of San Isidro, Argentina (Partido of General Sarmiento)
Territory LostDiocese of San Martín, Argentina Erected
1961Diocese of Mendoza, Argentina ElevatedArchdiocese of Mendoza, Argentina Elevated
1961Diocese of Azul, Argentina (from Buenos Aires) Metropolitan Changed
1961Diocese of Morón, Argentina (from La Plata) Metropolitan Changed
1961Diocese of La Rioja, Argentina (from Córdoba) Metropolitan Changed
1961Diocese of Formosa, Argentina (from Santa Fe to Corrientes) Metropolitan Changed
1961Diocese of Posadas, Argentina (from Paraná) Metropolitan Changed
1961Diocese of Resistencia, Argentina (from Santa Fe) Metropolitan Changed
1962Diocese of Nouna, Burkina Faso Territory LostMission "Sui Iuris" of San, Mali Erected
1962Diocese of Nouna, Burkina Faso (Cantons of Ménamba and Mao) Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Sikasoo, Mali Territory Added
1962Diocese of Nouna, Burkina Faso (Canton of Bai or Baye) Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Gao, Mali Territory Added
1976Archdiocese of Kabgayi, Rwanda (Kigali) Territory LostArchdiocese of Kigali, Rwanda Erected
1976Archdiocese of Kabgayi, Rwanda ElevatedDiocese of Kabgayi, Rwanda (Metropolitan to Diocese) Elevated
1976Diocese of Butare, Rwanda (from Kabgayi) Metropolitan Changed
1976Diocese of Kibungo, Rwanda (from Kabgayi) Metropolitan Changed
1976Diocese of Nyundo, Rwanda (from Kabgayi) Metropolitan Changed
1976Diocese of Ruhengeri, Rwanda (from Kabgayi) Metropolitan Changed
1992Diocese of Gerona, Spain Name ChangedDiocese of Girona, Spain Name Changed
1995Delegation to Pacific Ocean EstablishedNunciature to Kiribati, Pacific (Oceania) Established
2002Prefecture Apostolic of Karafuto, Russian Federation Name ChangedPrefecture Apostolic of Yuzhno Sakhalinsk, Russian Federation Name Changed


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_e, v3.2.3, 8 Feb 2020; Data: 16 Jun 2024