Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Eger

Archidioecesis Agriensis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Csaba Ternyák, Archbishop
  • István Katona, Auxiliary Bishop Emeritus

Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 9 August 1804
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • Country: Hungary
  • Square Kilometers: 11,500 (4,441 Square Miles)
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Szechenyi u. 1, H-3300 Eger; Pf. 80, H-3301 Eger, Magyarorszag
  • Telephone: (36)517-589; 517-750
  • Fax: 517-751

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Diocese of Eger
10th CenturyErectedDiocese of Eger (erected)
1804Territory LostDiocese of Eger Diocese of Satu Mare {Szatmár} (erected)
Archdiocese of Eger
9 August 1804ElevatedDiocese of Eger Archdiocese of Eger
10 August 1804Territory LostArchdiocese of Eger Diocese of Košice (erected)
7 February 1930Territory LostArchdiocese of Eger (Pernye-puszta estate) Diocese of Vác
21 April 1933Territory LostArchdiocese of Eger (Village of Rálcóczitelep) Archdiocese of Esztergom
17 December 1938Territory LostArchdiocese of Eger (Józsa, Szovŕt, Tetétlen, Földes, and Sap) Apostolic Administration of Debreczen
17 December 1938Territory LostArchdiocese of Eger (Tiszaherecseny, Tiszaadony Tiszavid, Tiszaszalka, and Kŕntorjŕnos) Apostolic Administration of Mérk
17 December 1938Territory AddedApostolic Administration of Mérk (Zŕhonij Ilk and Nyirvasvári) Archdiocese of Eger
2 May 1942Territory LostArchdiocese of Eger (Tiszarád and Cigánd) Diocese of Košice
31 May 1993Territory LostArchdiocese of Eger (Szabólcs-Szatmár-Bereg and part of Hajdu-Bihar)
Diocese of Szeged-Csanád (Part of Hajdu-Bihar)
Diocese of Debrecen-Nyíregyháza (erected)
31 May 1993Territory LostArchdiocese of Esztergom (Nógrád and Pest located to the north of the Danube)
Archdiocese of Eger (Nógrád)
Diocese of Vác
31 May 1993Territory AddedDiocese of Vác (Jánoshida) Archdiocese of Eger
31 May 1993Territory LostDiocese of Agrigento (Girgenti) (Part of Jász-Nagykun-Szolnok: Kunszentmárton I, Kunszentmárton II, Mesterszállás, Kuncsorba, and Turkeve)
Archdiocese of Eger (Kunszentmárton I, Kunszentmárton II, Mesterszállás, Kuncsorba, Turkeve, Bucsa and Dévaványa)
Diocese of Vác (Part of Csongrád along with Mezótúr, Mezohék, and Kungyalu)
Diocese of Szeged-Csanád


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Archdiocese of Eger

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Diocese of Eger
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 1, Page 78
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 2, Page 82, and Page 83
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 3, Page 98
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 4, Page 73
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 5, Page 73
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 6, Page 70
    • Series Episcoporum Ecclesiae Catholicae, Volume 1, Page 367, to Page 368
  • Archdiocese of Eger
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 31, Page 261, and Page 262
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 85, Page 869, to Page 876


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.6, 4 Feb 2024; Data: 14 Apr 2024