Catholic-Hierarchy DC

10th day of August

Diocese Events

St. Lawrence, deacon and martyr (Feast)

See Also: Bishop Events

1804Archdiocese of Eger, Hungary Territory LostDiocese of Košice, Slovakia Erected
1838Diocese of Islas Canarias {Canary Islands}, Spain Territory LostDiocese of Alger, Algeria Erected
1838Titular See of Icosium Territory Added
1888Diocese of Victoria, Australia Name ChangedDiocese of Victoria-Palmerston, Australia Name Changed
1888Vicariate Apostolic of Malacca-Singapore ElevatedDiocese of Malacca, Singapore Elevated
1906Vicariate Apostolic of Southern Zanguebar {Zanguebar Meridionale}, Tanzania Name ChangedVicariate Apostolic of Dar-es-Salaam, Tanzania Name Changed
1926Vicariate Apostolic of Ningpo [Ningbo], China (Taichow (Linghai, Tiantai, Sienlcu, Hwabyen, and Wenling)) Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Taichow [Linhai], China Erected
1938Delegation to Antilles Territory LostNunciature to Cuba (Jamaica with its annexed territories and British Honduras)
Nunciature to Haiti (Rest of the Lesser Antilles and Puerto Rico)
Nunciature to Venezuela (Barbados and the islands of Venezuela)
Territory Added
1946Diocese of Ayacucho o Huamanga (Guamanga), Peru (Chavin (in Ica))
Archdiocese of Lima, Peru (Ica (Ingenio, Lurén, Nazca, Palpa, Pueblo Nuevo, San Jerónimo de Ica, San Juan, Carmen, Chincha Alta, Chincha Baja, Sunampe, Humay, and Pisco))
Territory LostDiocese of Ica, Peru Erected
1947Eparchy of Luqsor {Tebe} (Coptic), Egypt (Between 27° and 28° lattitude, from the Red Sea to the Libyan desert) Territory LostEparchy of Assiut {Lycopolis} (Coptic), Egypt Erected
1950Prefecture Apostolic of Kaohsiung, Taiwan (Taiohungense) Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Taichung, Taiwan Erected
1968Diocese of Bereina, Papua New Guinea
Archdiocese of Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Territory Added
1974Diocese of Apia, American Samoa, Pacific (Oceania) Name ChangedDiocese of Apia o Samoa and Tokelau, American Samoa, Pacific (Oceania) Name Changed
1975Diocese of Silva Porto, Angola (Cuando-Cubango)
Diocese of Sá da Bandeira, Angola (Ganguela and Jamba (in Huila))
Territory LostDiocese of Serpa Pinto, Angola Erected
1975Archdiocese of Luanda, Angola (Cuanza-Sul and Calucinga) Territory LostDiocese of Novo Redondo, Angola Erected
1975Diocese of Sá da Bandeira, Angola (Cunene) Territory LostDiocese of Pereira de Eça, Angola Erected
1975Archdiocese of Luanda, Angola (Pungo Adongo)
Diocese of Malanje, Angola (Lunda)
Territory LostDiocese of Henrique de Carvalho, Angola Erected


Home | Countries | Religious Men Women | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_e, v3.2.4, 30 Jun 2024; Data: 11 Jul 2024