Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Lilongwe

Archidioecesis Lilongvensis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 9 February 2011
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • Country: Malawi
  • Square Kilometers: 24,025 (9,279 Square Miles)
  • Description: Dowa, Kasungu, Lilongwe, Mchinji, Nkhotakota, Ntchisi, and Salima
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Archbishop's House, P.O. Box 33, Lilongwe, Malawi
  • Telephone: (1)752.766; 754.667

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Vicariate Apostolic of Nyassa
31 July 1889ErectedVicariate Apostolic of Tanganyika Vicariate Apostolic of Nyassa (erected) (as Pro-Vicariate Apostolic)
12 February 1897ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Nyassa (to Vicariate Apostolic)
3 December 1903Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Nyassa Prefecture Apostolic of Shiré (erected)
28 January 1913Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Nyassa Vicariate Apostolic of Bangueolo (erected)
28 July 1926Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Nyassa (Area left of Longwa river up to 30th meridian and area left of the 30th meridian) Prefecture Apostolic of Zambese
23 May 1933Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Bangueolo (South and East)
Vicariate Apostolic of Nyassa (North)
Mission "Sui Iuris" of Loangwa (erected)
1 July 1937Territory LostMission "Sui Iuris" of Loangwa (Lundazi)
Vicariate Apostolic of Nyassa (Petauke and Fort Jameson)
Prefecture Apostolic of Fort Jameson (erected)
1 July 1937Territory AddedMission "Sui Iuris" of Loangwa (North Nyassa, West Nyassa, Mbombera-Mzimbam, and Kasungn) Vicariate Apostolic of Nyassa
8 May 1947Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Nyassa (Northern part up to the river Dwangwa) Prefecture Apostolic of Northern Nyassa (erected)
Vicariate Apostolic of Likuni
12 July 1951Name ChangedVicariate Apostolic of Nyassa Vicariate Apostolic of Likuni
29 April 1956Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Likuni (Dedza)
Vicariate Apostolic of Zomba (Ncheu)
Vicariate Apostolic of Dedza (erected)
Vicariate Apostolic of Lilongwe
20 June 1958Name ChangedVicariate Apostolic of Likuni Vicariate Apostolic of Lilongwe
Diocese of Lilongwe
25 April 1959ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Lilongwe Diocese of Lilongwe
Archdiocese of Lilongwe
9 February 2011ElevatedDiocese of Lilongwe Archdiocese of Lilongwe


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Vicariate Apostolic of Nyassa
Vicariate Apostolic of Likuni
Vicariate Apostolic of Lilongwe
Diocese of Lilongwe
Archdiocese of Lilongwe

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Vicariate Apostolic of Nyassa
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 30, Page 54, and Page 55
  • Vicariate Apostolic of Likuni
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 44, Page 46
  • Vicariate Apostolic of Lilongwe
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 50, Page 543
  • Diocese of Lilongwe
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 51, Page 793, to Page 796
  • Archdiocese of Lilongwe
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 103, Page 172, and Page 173


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.6, 4 Feb 2024; Data: 14 Apr 2024