Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Calcutta

Archidioecesis Calcuttensis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Thomas D’Souza, Archbishop

Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 1 September 1886
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • Country: India
  • Square Kilometers: 29,858 (11,532 Square Miles)
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Archbishop's House, 32 Mother Teresa Sarani, Kolkata-700016, West Bengal, India
  • Telephone: (033)2287.19.60; 2287.93.38
  • Fax: 2280.50.99

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Vicariate Apostolic of Bengal
18 April 1834ErectedDiocese of São Tomé of Meliapore Vicariate Apostolic of Bengal (erected)
15 February 1850Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Bengal Vicariate Apostolic of Eastern Bengal (erected)
Vicariate Apostolic of Western Bengal
15 February 1850Name ChangedVicariate Apostolic of Bengal Vicariate Apostolic of Western Bengal
19 July 1870Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Western Bengal Prefecture Apostolic of Central Bengal (erected)
Archdiocese of Calcutta
1 September 1886ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Western Bengal Archdiocese of Calcutta
25 May 1927Territory LostArchdiocese of Calcutta (Hazaribagh, Banchi, Palamau, and Singbhum, along with feudal states of Gangpur-Bamra-Donai in the region of Orissa, from Saraihela and Kharsawan in the territory of Chota Nagpur, and also from GhangJchakhar Korea, Sirguja, Jashpur, Udaipur, Sakti, ...) Diocese of Ranchi (erected)
15 February 1929Territory LostArchdiocese of Calcutta (Remaining part of Sikkim)
Vicariate Apostolic of Tatsienlu (English Bhutan (Kalimpong) and part of Sikkim)
Mission "Sui Iuris" of Sikkim (erected)
3 July 1929Territory AddedDiocese of São Tomé of Meliapore (Boitakana, Bändel, and Ginsutah) Archdiocese of Calcutta
4 January 1931Territory LostArchdiocese of Calcutta (Godda along with Deoghaz and Sarawan) Diocese of Patna
8 February 1951Territory AddedArchdiocese of Pondicherry (Chandernagore) Archdiocese of Calcutta
14 June 1951Territory LostArchdiocese of Calcutta (Rairakhol, Athmalik, Angul, Pallahara, Talcher, Hindol, and Dhenkanal along with part of Sambalpur and Sonpur)
Diocese of Nagpur (Patna and part of Sambalpur and Sonpur)
Diocese of Ranchi (Gangpur, Bonai, and Bamra)
Diocese of Sambalpur (erected)
3 January 1952Territory LostArchdiocese of Calcutta (Area in Pakistan)
Diocese of Krishnagar (Jessore, Kulna, Faridpur, Kustea, and Meherpur and Chuadanga (in Nadia))
Diocese of Jessore (erected)
2 July 1962Territory LostArchdiocese of Calcutta (Dhanbad, Purulia, and Eastern half of Singbhum)
Archdiocese of Ranchi (Western half of Singbhum)
Diocese of Jamshedpur (erected)
8 August 1962Territory LostArchdiocese of Calcutta (Part of Darjeeling)
Prefecture Apostolic of Sikkim
Diocese of Darjeeling
8 August 1962Territory LostArchdiocese of Calcutta (Parts of Purnea and Santal Parganas (Bihar))
Prefecture Apostolic of Malda
Diocese of Dumka
8 June 1968Territory LostArchdiocese of Calcutta (Balasore, Mayurbhanj, and Keonjhar) Prefecture Apostolic of Balasore (erected)
8 June 1968Territory LostArchdiocese of Calcutta (Cuttack north of the river Mahanadi) Diocese of Cuttack
22 November 1975Territory AddedDiocese of Krishnagar (Bagdaha, Bangaon, and Gaighata of the 24 Parganas District) Archdiocese of Calcutta
30 May 1977Territory LostArchdiocese of Calcutta (Southern and central part of 24 Paraganas) Diocese of Baruipur (erected)
24 October 1997Territory LostArchdiocese of Calcutta (West Bengal: Burdwan along with Bankura viz., Saltora, Mejhia, Gangajalghat, Barjhor, Sonamukhi, Patrasari, Indua, Chhatna, and Bankura, and Birbhum District viz., Muhammadbazar, Rajnagar, Khoyrasole, Dubrajpur, Suri, Illambazar, Sainthia, Bolpur, Labpur,) Diocese of Asansol (erected)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Archdiocese of Calcutta

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Vicariate Apostolic of Bengal
    • Series Episcoporum Ecclesiae Catholicae, Volume 1, Page 121
  • Vicariate Apostolic of Western Bengal
    • Series Episcoporum Ecclesiae Catholicae, Volume 1, Page 121
  • Archdiocese of Calcutta
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 22, Page 121, to Page 123
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 43, Page 384, and Page 385
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 67, Page 375


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.6, 4 Feb 2024; Data: 14 Apr 2024