Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Diocese of Tiruchirapalli

Dioecesis Tiruchirapolitana

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Diocese
  • Name Changed: 21 October 1950
  • Metropolitan: Archdiocese of Madurai
  • Depends on: Dicastery for Evangelization
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • Country: India
  • Square Kilometers: 12,144 (4,690 Square Miles)
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Bishop's House, 12A Convent Road, Tiruchchirappalli-620001, Tamil Nadu, India
  • Telephone: (0431)2415.635
  • Fax: 2417.502

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Vicariate Apostolic of Madurai and Coromandel Coast
8 July 1836ErectedDiocese of São Tomé of Meliapore Vicariate Apostolic of Madurai and Coromandel Coast (erected)
1850Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Madurai and Coromandel Coast Vicariate Apostolic of Coimbatore (erected)
Vicariate Apostolic of Mysore (erected)
Diocese of Madurai
1 September 1886ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Madurai and Coromandel Coast Diocese of Madurai
Diocese of Trichinopoly
7 June 1887Name ChangedDiocese of Madurai Diocese of Trichinopoly
12 June 1923Territory LostDiocese of Trichinopoly (Most of Tuticorin, about half of Nellai, and a portion of Kanyakumari) Diocese of Tuticorin (erected)
14 July 1927Territory LostDiocese of Trichinopoly (Boundaries adjusted) Diocese of Tuticorin (Boundaries adjusted)
3 July 1929Territory LostDiocese of Kumbakonam (Mayavaram, Shiyaly, and part of Nannuam and Ghidambaram (Thanjavur))
Archdiocese of Madras (Part of city of Madras)
Diocese of Trichinopoly (Alangudi and Thirumayam)
Diocese of São Tomé of Meliapore
3 July 1929Territory AddedDiocese of São Tomé of Meliapore (Awor, Cooumim, Dindigul, Madura, Malleiadipaty, Oriur, HFossa Senhora das Dores, and Muttupettaah (except for Venkatakulam)) Diocese of Trichinopoly
8 January 1938Territory LostDiocese of Trichinopoly (Tinnevelly, part of Travancore (East of the Ghats), and Ramnad and Madura (except Paini and Dindigul)) Diocese of Madura (erected)
Diocese of Tiruchirapalli
21 October 1950Name ChangedDiocese of Trichinopoly Diocese of Tiruchirapalli
19 September 1953Metropolitan ChangedDiocese of Tiruchirapalli (from Bombay)
10 November 2003Territory LostArchdiocese of Madurai (Natham, Kamalapuram, Sinnalapatty, Athur, Karisalpatty, and Vannampatty)
Diocese of Tiruchirapalli (Dindigul (Dindigul, Vedasandur, Oddanchatram, Palani, and Natham))
Diocese of Dindigul (erected)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Diocese of Tiruchirapalli

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Vicariate Apostolic of Madurai and Coromandel Coast
    • Series Episcoporum Ecclesiae Catholicae, Volume 1, Page 120
  • Diocese of Trichinopoly
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 8, Page 565
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 9, Page 376
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 22, Page 121, to Page 123
  • Diocese of Tiruchirapalli
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 43, Page 127
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 46, Page 83, to Page 87
  • ============

    Home | Countries | Religious Men Women | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
    Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
    Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
    Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
    Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
    Eastern Catholic Churches


    About Catholic-Hierarchy
    Terminology/Site Help
    [ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
    Code: web_d, v3.4.8, 30 Jun 2024; Data: 13 Jul 2024