Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Jos

Archidioecesis Iosensis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Matthew Ishaya Audu, Archbishop

Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 26 March 1994
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • Country: Nigeria
  • Square Kilometers: 6,769 (2,614 Square Miles)
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Archbishop's House, P.O. Box 494, 20 Joseph D. Gornwalk Road, Riyom Drive, 930001 Jos, Plateau State, Nigeria
  • Telephone: (0803)53.47.224

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Prefecture Apostolic of Jos
9 April 1934ErectedPrefecture Apostolic of Northern Nigeria {Nigeria Settentrionale} (Plateau, Baciti, and part of Benue and part of Bornou) Prefecture Apostolic of Jos (erected)
28 April 1942Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Dahomey
Vicariate Apostolic of Foumban
Prefecture Apostolic of Ghardaïa nel Sahara
Prefecture Apostolic of Jos
Prefecture Apostolic of Kaduna
Vicariate Apostolic of Khartoum
Vicariate Apostolic of Ouagadougou
Prefecture Apostolic of Niamey (erected)
14 July 1950Territory LostDiocese of Buéa
Prefecture Apostolic of Jos
Prefecture Apostolic of Oturkpo
Prefecture Apostolic of Yola (erected) (Adamctwa and parts of Bomu)
29 June 1953Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Jos (Borau) Prefecture Apostolic of Maiduguri (erected)
Diocese of Jos
29 June 1953ElevatedPrefecture Apostolic of Jos Diocese of Jos
12 December 1955Territory LostDiocese of Jos (Northern part of Benne) Prefecture Apostolic of Oturkpo
16 July 1959Metropolitan ChangedDiocese of Jos (from Onitsha)
Archdiocese of Jos
26 March 1994ElevatedDiocese of Jos Archdiocese of Jos
10 July 1995Territory LostArchdiocese of Jos (Kaura, Jema'a, and Jaba)
Archdiocese of Kaduna (Kaum, Lere, and Zangón Kataf)
Diocese of Kafanchan (erected)
5 July 1996Territory LostArchdiocese of Jos (Akko, Alkaleri, Balanga, Bauchi, Billirri, Darazo, Dass, Dukku, Gamawa, Gankuwa, Gombe, Itas/Gadau, Jama'are, Kaltungo, Katagum, Misau, Nafada, Nigi, Shiri, Tafawa-Balewa, Toro, Tamaltu/Deba, and Zaki) Vicariate Apostolic of Bauchi (erected)
5 December 2000Territory LostArchdiocese of Jos (Akwanga, Nasarawa Eggon, and Wamba)
Diocese of Makurdi (Nasarawa along with Karu, Keffi, Lafia, Obi, Awe, Doma, Nasarawa, Toto, Keana, and Kokana)
Diocese of Lafia (erected)
2 June 2007Territory LostArchdiocese of Jos (Shendam, Langtang North, Langtang South, Mikang, Wase, and Qua'an Pan along with Lankan, Jiblik, Abwor/Dyis, Chip, Jing, Tal, and Pai) Diocese of Shendam (erected)
18 March 2014Territory LostArchdiocese of Jos
Diocese of Shendam
Diocese of Pankshin (erected) (Pankshin, Kanke, Mangu, Bokkos, and Kanam)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Diocese of Jos
Archdiocese of Jos

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Prefecture Apostolic of Jos
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 27, Page 252, and Page 253
  • Diocese of Jos
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 46, Page 38, to Page 40
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 52, Page 72, and Page 73
  • Archdiocese of Jos
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 86, Page 559


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2023
Code: web_d, v3.4.4, 25 Feb 2023; Data: 15 Dec 2023