Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Diocese of Allahabad

Dioecesis Allahabadensis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Louis Mascarenhas, Bishop

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Diocese
  • Elevated: 1 September 1886
  • Metropolitan: Archdiocese of Agra
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • Country: India
  • Square Kilometers: 47,852 (18,482 Square Miles)
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Bishop's House, 32 Thornhill Road, Allahabad-211002, U.P., India
  • Telephone: (0532)240.74.51

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Vicariate Apostolic of Patna
7 February 1845ErectedVicariate Apostolic of Tibet-Hindustan Vicariate Apostolic of Patna (erected)
Diocese of Allahabad
1 September 1886ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Patna Diocese of Allahabad
1892Territory LostDiocese of Allahabad Prefecture Apostolic of Bettiah (erected)
18 July 1932Territory LostDiocese of Allahabad (districts of Sagar, Damoh, Rewa, Siddhi, Shahdol, Satna, Panna, Chattarpur, and Tikamgarh)
Diocese of Nagpur (districts of Jabalpur, Mandla, Narsinghpur and the tahsil of Laknadon)
Prefecture Apostolic of Jubbulpore (erected)
11 March 1935Territory LostDiocese of Ajmer (Part of the Administration of Central India, which is south of the Administration of Rajputana, the Prefecture (tahsil) of Thandla, the districts of Isaghar and Mandasor, and the State of Sitaman)
Diocese of Allahabad (State of Bhopal and the district of Bhilsa)
Diocese of Nagpur (District of Eoshangabad (except Pachmari), district of Nimar, State of Barwani, and that part of the States of Indore and Dhar, which lies to the south of the river Narbada)
Prefecture Apostolic of Indore (erected)
12 January 1940Territory LostDiocese of Allahabad (Jhansi, Jalaun, Eamirpur, and Banda) Prefecture Apostolic of Jhansi (erected)
12 January 1940Territory LostArchdiocese of Agra (Shahjahanpur and Piltbhit)
Diocese of Allahabad (Lucknow, Unnao, Barabanki, Gonda, Hardoi, Sitapur, Baliraichj Kheri, Nainital, and Almora)
Diocese of Lucknow (erected)
11 July 1946Territory LostDiocese of Allahabad (Goraldipur, Azamgarli, Ballia, Jaunpur, Ghezipur, Behares, and Mirza) Prefecture Apostolic of Gorakhpur (erected)
9 January 1947Territory AddedPrefecture Apostolic of Gorakhpur (Mirzapur) Diocese of Allahabad


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Diocese of Allahabad

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Vicariate Apostolic of Patna
    • Series Episcoporum Ecclesiae Catholicae, Volume 1, Page 121
  • Diocese of Allahabad
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 8, Page 90
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 9, Page 47
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 39, Page 230


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.7, 20 Apr 2024; Data: 19 May 2024