Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Nagpur

Archidioecesis Nagpurensis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 19 September 1953
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • Country: India
  • Square Kilometers: 59,024 (22,798 Square Miles)
  • Mailing Address: Archbishop's House, 25 Kamptee Road, Mohan Nagar P.O., Nagpur-440001, Maharashtra, India
  • Telephone: (0712)2533.765

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Diocese of Nagpur
11 July 1887ErectedDiocese of Vizagapatnam Diocese of Nagpur (erected)
18 July 1932Territory LostDiocese of Allahabad (districts of Sagar, Damoh, Rewa, Siddhi, Shahdol, Satna, Panna, Chattarpur, and Tikamgarh)
Diocese of Nagpur (districts of Jabalpur, Mandla, Narsinghpur and the tahsil of Laknadon)
Prefecture Apostolic of Jubbulpore (erected)
11 March 1935Territory LostDiocese of Ajmer (Part of the Administration of Central India, which is south of the Administration of Rajputana, the Prefecture (tahsil) of Thandla, the districts of Isaghar and Mandasor, and the State of Sitaman)
Diocese of Allahabad (State of Bhopal and the district of Bhilsa)
Diocese of Nagpur (District of Eoshangabad (except Pachmari), district of Nimar, State of Barwani, and that part of the States of Indore and Dhar, which lies to the south of the river Narbada)
Prefecture Apostolic of Indore (erected)
14 June 1951Territory LostArchdiocese of Calcutta (Rairakhol, Athmalik, Angul, Pallahara, Talcher, Hindol, and Dhenkanal along with part of Sambalpur and Sonpur)
Diocese of Nagpur (Patna and part of Sambalpur and Sonpur)
Diocese of Ranchi (Gangpur, Bonai, and Bamra)
Diocese of Sambalpur (erected)
13 December 1951Territory LostDiocese of Nagpur (Rest of Raigarh)
Diocese of Ranchi (Surguia and most of Raigarh)
Diocese of Raigarh-Ambikapur (erected)
Archdiocese of Nagpur
19 September 1953ElevatedDiocese of Nagpur Archdiocese of Nagpur
8 May 1955Territory LostArchdiocese of Nagpur (Amravati, Akola, Yeotmal, Buldana, Nander, Parbhana, and Aurungabad) Diocese of Amravati (erected)
16 January 1964Territory LostArchdiocese of Nagpur (Civil Districts: Raipur, Bilaspur, and Drug) Prefecture Apostolic of Raipur (erected)
29 July 1968Territory LostDiocese of Amravati
Archdiocese of Nagpur
Apostolic Exarchate of Chanda (Syro-Malabar) (erected)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Diocese of Nagpur
Archdiocese of Nagpur

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Archdiocese of Nagpur
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 46, Page 83, to Page 87


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.6, 4 Feb 2024; Data: 14 Apr 2024