Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Diocese of Dallas

Dioecesis Dallasensis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Edward James Burns, Bishop
  • John Gregory Kelly, Auxiliary Bishop

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Diocese
  • Split: 9 August 1969
  • Metropolitan: Archdiocese of San Antonio
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • State: Texas
  • Country: United States of America
  • Square Kilometers: 19,475 (7,522 Square Miles)
  • Description: Comprises the following nine Counties in the State of Texas: Collin, Dallas, Ellis, Fannin, Grayson, Hunt, Kaufman, Navarro and Rockwall.
  • Conference Region: X (AR, OK, TX)
  • Catholic Directory Abbreviation: DAL
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: 3725 Blackburn St., P.O. Box 190507, Dallas, TX 75219, USA
  • Telephone: (214)528-2240
  • Fax: 379-3216

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Diocese of Dallas
15 July 1890ErectedDiocese of Galveston Diocese of Dallas (erected)
1891Territory AddedVicariate Apostolic of Arizona (El Paso County in Texas) Diocese of Dallas
1892Territory AddedDiocese of Dallas (Counties of El Paso, Hudspeth, and Culberson)
3 March 1914Territory LostDiocese of Dallas
Diocese of San Antonio
Diocese of Tucson
Diocese of El Paso (erected)
3 August 1926Territory LostDiocese of Dallas (Dollam, Sherman, Hansford, Ochiltree, Lipscomb, Hartley, Moore, Hutchison, Roberts, Hemphill, Oldham, Potter, Carson, Gray, Wheeler, Deaf Smith, Randall, Armstrong, Donley, Collingsworth, Parmer, Castro, Swisher, Briscoe, Hall, Childress, Bailey, Lamb,...)
Diocese of El Paso (Gaines, Andrews, Ector, and Crane)
Diocese of San Antonio (Martin, Howard, Midland, Glasscock, Sterling, Upton, Reagan, Irion, Tom Green, Concho, Crockett, Schleicher, Menard, Sutton, Kimble, one-half of Mitchell and Coke, and one-eighth of Runnels)
Diocese of Amarillo (erected)
15 November 1947Territory LostDiocese of Dallas (Coleman, Brown, Mills, and Hamilton)
Diocese of Galveston (Lampasas, Coryeli, McLenan, Limestone, Bell, Falls, Robertson, Williamson, Milam, Brazos, Lee, Burleson, Washington, Austin along with parts of Burnet, Colorado, Fayette, Bastrop, and Travis)
Archdiocese of San Antonio (McCulloch, St. Saba, Mason, Llano, Blanco, Rays, and Caldwell along with parts of Burnet, Trams, and Bastrop)
Diocese of Austin (erected)
Diocese of Dallas-Fort Worth
20 October 1953Name ChangedDiocese of Dallas Diocese of Dallas-Fort Worth
16 October 1961Territory LostDiocese of Amarillo (Counties of Kimble, Sutton, Crockett, Schleicher, Concho, Menard, Tom Green, Irion, Reagan, Upton, Crane, Ector, Midland, Glasscock, Sterling, Coke, Nolan, Mitchell, Howard, Martin, Andrews, Scurry, Fisher, and Stonewall)
Diocese of Austin (Counties of McCulloch, Brown, and Coleman)
Diocese of Dallas-Fort Worth (Counties of Runnels, Callhan, Taylor, Jones, and Haskell)
Diocese of El Paso (Counties of Pecos and Terrei)
Diocese of San Angelo (erected)
Diocese of Dallas
9 August 1969SplitDiocese of Dallas-Fort Worth Diocese of Dallas
Diocese of Fort Worth (Archer, Baylor, Bosque, Clay, Comanche, Cooke, Dentón, Eastland Erath, Foard, Hardeman, Hill, Hood, Jack, Johnson, Knox, Montague, Palo Pinto, Parker, Shakelford, Stephens, Somervell, Tarrant, Throckmorton, Wichita, Wilbarger, Wise, and Young)
12 December 1986Territory LostDiocese of Beaumont (Angelina, Cherokee, Nacogdoches, Sabine, San Augustine, and Shelby)
Diocese of Dallas (Bowie, Camp, Gass, Delta, Franklin, Gregg, Harrison, Henderson, Hopkins. Iamar, Marion, Morris, Panola, Rains, Red River, Rusk, Smith, Titus, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood)
Diocese of Galveston-Houston (Anderson, Freestone, Houston, Leon, and Trinity)
Diocese of Tyler (erected)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Diocese of Dallas
Diocese of Dallas-Fort Worth
Diocese of Dallas

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Diocese of Dallas-Fort Worth
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 46, Page 27, and Page 28
  • Diocese of Dallas
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 62, Page 34, to Page 36


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.7, 20 Apr 2024; Data: 11 Jun 2024