Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Diocese of Mahajanga

Dioecesis Mahagiangana

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Zygmunt Robaszkiewicz, M.S.F., Bishop

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Diocese
  • Name Changed: 28 October 1989
  • Metropolitan: Archdiocese of Antsiranana
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • Country: Madagascar
  • Square Kilometers: 67,300 (25,994 Square Miles)
  • Mailing Address: Évêché, rue Montee du Rova, B.P. 126, Mahajanga 401, Madagascar
  • Telephone: (020)62.22.602
  • Fax: 62.23.103

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Vicariate Apostolic of Majunga
15 March 1923ErectedVicariate Apostolic of Diégo-Suarez (Western part) Vicariate Apostolic of Majunga (erected)
8 January 1938Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Fianarantsoa (part of Bakalavia)
Vicariate Apostolic of Majunga (part of Maintirano and Morafenobe)
Vicariate Apostolic of Tananarive (part of Maintirano and Morafenobe)
Prefecture Apostolic of Morondava (erected)
8 January 1938Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Fianarantsoa
Vicariate Apostolic of Majunga
Vicariate Apostolic of Tananarive
Vicariate Apostolic of Antsirabé (erected)
25 May 1939Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Majunga (Kiangara)
Mission "Sui Iuris" of Miarinarivo
Vicariate Apostolic of Tananarive (Ankazobe and part of Arivonimamo)
Vicariate Apostolic of Miarinarivo
10 July 1947Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Majunga (Antsohiby, Befandriana, and parts of Analalava and Bealanana) Prefecture Apostolic of Ambanja
Diocese of Majunga
14 September 1955ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Majunga Diocese of Majunga
11 December 1958Metropolitan ChangedDiocese of Majunga (from Tananarive)
17 December 1974Territory LostDiocese of Majunga (Andriamena) Diocese of Ambatondrazaka
Diocese of Mahajanga
28 October 1989Name ChangedDiocese of Majunga Diocese of Mahajanga
18 October 1993Territory LostDiocese of Mahajanga (Port-Bergé, Mandritsara, and Mampikony) Diocese of Port-Bergé (erected)
8 February 2017Territory LostDiocese of Mahajanga
Diocese of Morondava
Diocese of Tsiroanomandidy
Diocese of Maintirano (erected)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Vicariate Apostolic of Majunga
Diocese of Majunga
Diocese of Mahajanga

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Vicariate Apostolic of Majunga
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 15, Page 194, and Page 195
  • Diocese of Majunga
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 48, Page 113, to Page 119
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 51, Page 449, to Page 451
  • Diocese of Mahajanga
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 82, Page 205


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.6, 4 Feb 2024; Data: 14 Apr 2024