Catholic-Hierarchy DC

27th day of March

Diocese Events

See Also: Bishop Events

1536Diocese of Maguelonne, France Name ChangedDiocese of Montpellier, France Name Changed
1783Diocese of Pamplona, Spain Territory LostDiocese of Tudela, Spain Erected
1846Vicariate Apostolic of Western Tonking {Tonkino Occidentale}, Viet Nam Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Southern Tonking {Tonkino Meridionale}, Viet Nam Erected
1846Vicariate Apostolic of Tibet-Hindustan, India Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Lhassa, China Erected
1846Vicariate Apostolic of Se-Ciuen (Setchoan, Szechwan, Sichuan), China Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Kuiceu (Kweichow), China Erected
1863Vicariate Apostolic of Central Oceania, Tonga Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Fiji Island, Pacific (Oceania) Erected
1882Diocese of Perugia, Italy ElevatedArchdiocese of Perugia, Italy Elevated
1925Diocese of Barra do Piraí, Brazil (Besengano, Conservatória, Encruzilhada, Ipiabas, Miguel Pereira, Paraíba do Sul, Paty do Alferes, Rio Bonito, Rio das Flores, Sapucaia, Três Rios, Valença, and Vassouras)
Diocese of Niterói (Nictheroy), Brazil (Carmo and Sumidouro)
Territory LostDiocese of Valença, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Erected
1928Diocese of Fukuoka, Japan (Miyazaki and Oita) Territory LostMission "Sui Iuris" of Miyazaki, Japan Erected
1931Diocese of Salt Lake, Utah, USA (Clark, Elko, Eureka, Lander, Lincoln, Nye, and White Pine)
Diocese of Sacramento, California, USA (Churchill, Douglas, Esmeralda, Humbodt, Lyon, Mineral, Ormsby, Storey, and Washoe)
Territory LostDiocese of Reno, Nevada, USA Erected
1962Diocese of Ootacamund, India (from Bangalore) Metropolitan Changed
1976Territorial Prelature of Cristalândia, Goias, Brazil (Couto Magalbaes)
Territorial Prelature of Marabá, Para, Brazil (Conceiçâo do Araguaia and Santana do Araguaia)
Territory LostTerritorial Prelature of Santíssima Conceição do Araguaia, Para, Brazil Erected
1976Diocese of San Isidro, Argentina
Diocese of San Nicolás de los Arroyos, Argentina
Territory LostDiocese of Zárate-Campana, Argentina Erected
1980Archdiocese of La Plata, Argentina (Chascomús, Coronel Brandsen, Castelli, Dolores, General Belgrano, General Guido, General Paz, Monte, and Pila)
Diocese of Mar del Plata, Argentina (General Conesa, General Lavalle, and Maipú)
Territory LostDiocese of Chascomús, Argentina Erected
1986Diocese of Acquapendente, Italy
Diocese of Bagnoregio (Bagnorea), Italy
Diocese of Montefiascone, Italy
Diocese of Viterbo e Tuscania, Italy
UnitedDiocese of Viterbo, Acquapendente, Bagnoregio, Montefiascone, Tuscania e San Martino al Monte Cimino, Italy United
1996Diocese of Miracema do Tocantins, Brazil (Aparecida do Rio Negro, Lageado, Lizarda, Rio Sono, and Reserva Xerente)
Diocese of Porto Nacional, Tocatins, Brazil (Palmas, Sao Félix do Tocantins, Mateiros, Novo Acordo, Santa Teresa do Tocantins, and Lagoa do Tocantins)
Territory LostArchdiocese of Palmas, Tocatins, Brazil Erected
1996Diocese of Porto Nacional, Tocatins, Brazil (from Goiânia) Metropolitan Changed
1996Diocese of Miracema do Tocantins, Brazil (from Goiânia) Metropolitan Changed
1996Diocese of Tocantinópolis, Tocatins, Brazil (from Goiânia) Metropolitan Changed
1996Territorial Prelature of Cristalândia, Goias, Brazil (from Goiânia) Metropolitan Changed
2002Apostolic Administration of Zakarpattia, Ukraine ElevatedDiocese of Mukachevo (Munkács), Ukraine Elevated


Home | Countries | Religious Men Women | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_e, v3.2.4, 30 Jun 2024; Data: 15 Jul 2024