Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Agra

Archidioecesis AgraŽnsis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Raphy Manjaly, Archbishop
  • Albert D’Souza, Archbishop Emeritus

Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 1 September 1886
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • Country: India
  • Square Kilometers: 69,162 (26,713 Square Miles)
  • Description: consists of the following districts in Uttar Pradesh: Agra, Aligarh, Auraiya, Budaun, Bulandshahr, Etah, Etawah, Farrukabad, Fathegarh, Firozabad, Gautambudha Nagar, Hathras, Kannauj, Mainpuri, Mathura and in Rajasthan, Bharatpur and Dholpur.
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Archbishop's House, Wazirpura Road, Agra-282003, U.P., India
  • Telephone: (0562) 2851.318; 2526.397

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Mission "Sui Iuris" of Hindustan
17 May 1784ErectedVicariate Apostolic of Great Mogul (Mughals) Mission "Sui Iuris" of Hindustan (erected)
Vicariate Apostolic of Tibet-Hindustan
1820ElevatedMission "Sui Iuris" of Hindustan Vicariate Apostolic of Tibet-Hindustan
12 September 1834Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Tibet-Hindustan Vicariate Apostolic of Sardhana (erected)
7 February 1845Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Tibet-Hindustan Vicariate Apostolic of Patna (erected)
27 March 1846Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Tibet-Hindustan Vicariate Apostolic of Lhassa (erected)
Vicariate Apostolic of Agra
1846Name ChangedVicariate Apostolic of Tibet-Hindustan Vicariate Apostolic of Agra
1880Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Agra Vicariate Apostolic of Punjab (erected)
Archdiocese of Agra
1 September 1886ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Agra Archdiocese of Agra
1890Territory LostArchdiocese of Agra Mission "Sui Iuris" of Rajputana (erected)
13 September 1910Territory LostArchdiocese of Agra
Diocese of Lahore
Archdiocese of Simla (erected)
13 April 1937Territory LostArchdiocese of Agra (Delhi and Punjab)
Archdiocese of Simla
Archdiocese of Delhi and Simla (and Name Change)
12 January 1940Territory LostArchdiocese of Agra (Shahjahanpur and Piltbhit)
Diocese of Allahabad (Lucknow, Unnao, Barabanki, Gonda, Hardoi, Sitapur, Baliraichj Kheri, Nainital, and Almora)
Diocese of Lucknow (erected)
21 June 1951Territory LostArchdiocese of Agra (Bandikui and Alwar) Diocese of Ajmer
8 November 1951Territory LostArchdiocese of Agra (Bareilly) Diocese of Lucknow
5 July 1954Territory LostArchdiocese of Agra (Datia and Gwalior)
Prefecture Apostolic of Jhansi
Diocese of Jhansi
20 February 1956Territory LostArchdiocese of Agra (Meerut, Moradabad, Rampur, Bijnor, Muzaffarnagar, Saharanpur, Garhwal, Tehri, and Dehra Dun) Diocese of Meerut (erected)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Archdiocese of Agra

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Vicariate Apostolic of Tibet-Hindustan
    • Series Episcoporum Ecclesiae Catholicae, Volume 1, Page 121
  • Archdiocese of Agra
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 8, Page 82
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 9, Page 40
  • ============

    Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
    Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
    Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
    Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
    Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
    Eastern Catholic Churches


    About Catholic-Hierarchy
    Terminology/Site Help
    [ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
    Code: web_d, v3.4.6, 4 Feb 2024; Data: 14 Apr 2024