Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Durban

Archidioecesis Durbaniana

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Siegfried Mandla Jwara, C.M.M., Archbishop
  • Elias Kwenzakufani Zondi, Auxiliary Bishop
  • Wilfrid Fox Napier, O.F.M., Cardinal, Archbishop Emeritus

Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 11 January 1951
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • Country: South Africa
  • Square Kilometers: 20,300 (7,840 Square Miles)
  • Description: comprises the civil districts of Camperdown, north of the Umlaas River, (except the farms of Mariannhill, Klaarwater, Dassenhoek, Welbedag and portion of Stockville), Durban, Estcourt, Inanda, kranskop, Lions River, Lower Tugela, Maphumulo, Umvoti, Weenen, Bergville and part of Msinga.
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Archbishop's House, 154 Gordon Road, Morningside, Durban 4001, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
  • Telephone: (031)303-1417
  • Fax: 312-1848

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Vicariate Apostolic of Natal
15 November 1850ErectedVicariate Apostolic of Cape of Good Hope, Eastern District {Capo de Buona Speranza, Distretto Orientale} Vicariate Apostolic of Natal (erected)
2 July 1879Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Natal Mission "Sui Iuris" of Zambese (erected)
4 June 1886Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Natal Prefecture Apostolic of Transvaal (erected)
4 June 1886Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Cape of Good Hope, Eastern District {Capo de Buona Speranza, Distretto Orientale}
Vicariate Apostolic of Natal
Vicariate Apostolic of Kimberley in Orange (erected)
27 August 1921Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Natal Prefecture Apostolic of Zululand (erected)
10 September 1921Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Natal Vicariate Apostolic of Mariannhill (erected)
19 April 1923Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Natal (Swaziland) Prefecture Apostolic of Swaziland (erected)
11 December 1923Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Natal (Mtunzini, Eshowe, NJcanshala, and Ugutu)
Prefecture Apostolic of Zululand
Vicariate Apostolic of Eshowe
5 December 1924Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Natal (Welbedacht, Mariannhill, and DarrehoÚk) Vicariate Apostolic of Mariannhill
Archdiocese of Durban
11 January 1951ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Natal Archdiocese of Durban
23 June 1958Territory LostDiocese of Bremersdorp (Piet Retief)
Archdiocese of Durban (Newcastle, Utrecht, Dundee, Klip Eivier, Helpmekaar, and parts of Msinga, Weenan, and Bergville north of Tugela river)
Diocese of Lydenburg (Ermelo, Bethal, Standerton, Volksrust, Amersfoort, and Wakkerstroom)
Prefecture Apostolic of Volksrust (erected)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Vicariate Apostolic of Natal
Archdiocese of Durban

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Vicariate Apostolic of Natal
    • Series Episcoporum Ecclesiae Catholicae, Volume 1, Page 475
  • Archdiocese of Durban
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 43, Page 257, to Page 263


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.6, 4 Feb 2024; Data: 14 Apr 2024