Catholic-Hierarchy DC

16th day of July

Diocese Events

Our Lady of Mount Carmel (Opt. Memorial)

See Also: Bishop Events

1571Diocese of Hierapetra, Greece
Diocese of Sitia, Greece
UnitedDiocese of Hierapetra et Sitia, Greece United
1821Archdiocese of Gniezno, Poland
Diocese of Poznań, Poland
UnitedArchdiocese of Gniezno e Poznań, Poland United
1821Diocese of Samland (Sambia), Poland SuppressedDiocese of Warmia (Ermland), Poland Territory Added
1844Vicariate Apostolic of Western Oceania Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Melanesia, Pacific (Oceania)
Vicariate Apostolic of Micronesia, Pacific (Oceania)
1849Missionary Sons of the Immaculate Heart of Mary Founded
1851Diocese of Capaccio, Italy Name ChangedDiocese of Capaccio e Vallo della Lucania, Italy Name Changed
1897Diocese of Niterói (Nictheroy), Brazil Name ChangedDiocese of Petrópolis, Brazil Name Changed
1901Diocese of Concepción, Chile Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Araucanía, Chile Erected
1927Diocese of Nagasaki, Japan (Saga, Fukuoka, Kumamoto, Oita, and Miyazaki) Territory LostDiocese of Fukuoka, Japan Erected
1949Diocese of Concepción y Chaco, Paraguay Name ChangedDiocese of Concepción (Santissima Concezione) en Paraguay Name Changed
1950Prefecture Apostolic of Shunsen, Korea (South) Name ChangedPrefecture Apostolic of Chunchon, Korea (South) Name Changed
1955Archdiocese of Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil (Santo Antonio, Sant'Ana, Baldim, Fortuna, Inhaúma, Jaboticatubas, Jequitibá, Maravilhas, Martinho Campos, Matosinhos, Papagaio, Pequi, Pompéu, and Prudente de Moráis)
Archdiocese of Diamantina, Minas Gerais, Brazil (Cedro, Lagoa Bonita, Paraopeba, Pirapama, and Biacho Fundo)
Territory LostDiocese of Sete Lagoas, Minas Gerais, Brazil Erected
1955Archdiocese of Utrecht, Netherlands (Groningen, Friesland, and Drenthe, along with the Noord-Oost-Polder) Territory LostDiocese of Groningen, Netherlands Erected
1955Diocese of Haarlem, Netherlands (Zuid-Holland) Territory LostDiocese of Rotterdam, Netherlands Erected
1959Vicariate Apostolic of Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea (Kairuku, Goilala, Kerema, and Orokolo) Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Yule Island, Papua New Guinea Erected
1959Vicariate Apostolic of Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Daru, Papua New Guinea Erected
1959Diocese of Kaduna, Nigeria ElevatedArchdiocese of Kaduna, Nigeria Elevated
1959Diocese of Jos, Nigeria (from Onitsha) Metropolitan Changed
1959Diocese of Oturkpo, Nigeria (from Onitsha) Metropolitan Changed
1973Diocese of Città della Pieve, Italy (San Lazzaro alle Piazza and Gamporsevoli (both in Getona)) Territory LostDiocese of Chiusi e Pienza, Italy Territory Added
1975Patriarchate of Lisboa {Lisbon}, Portugal (Santarem) Territory LostDiocese of Santarém, Portugal Erected
1975Diocese of Beja, Portugal (Melides/Ponta de Troia (in Grandola))
Archdiocese of Évora, Portugal (Canha, Pegoês, and Santo Isidro (all in Montijo) and Comporta (in Alcázar do Sal))
Patriarchate of Lisboa {Lisbon}, Portugal (Setubal)
Territory LostDiocese of Setúbal, Portugal Erected
1988Vicariate Apostolic of Riohacha, Colombia ElevatedDiocese of Riohacha, Colombia Elevated
1988Diocese of Nardò-Gallipoli, Italy (S. Michele Arcangelo, Beata Vergine Maria di Costantinopoli, and S. Barbara Vergine e Martire (all in Galatina)) Territory LostArchdiocese of Otranto, Italy Territory Added
1988Archdiocese of Otranto, Italy (Sant'Antonio da Padova and Sant'Eufemia (both in Tricase)) Territory LostDiocese of Ugento-Santa Maria di Leuca, Italy Territory Added
1988Archdiocese of Otranto, Italy (Presentazione del Signore (in Melendugno)) Territory LostArchdiocese of Lecce, Italy Territory Added
2002Territorial Abbey of Subiaco, Italy Territory LostDiocese of Anagni-Alatri, Italy (S. Maria in Trevi nel Lazio and Blessed Vergine Maria Fugium Peccatorum in Trevi nel Lazio, and Fraz. Altipiani di Arcinazzo)
Suburbicarian See of Palestrina, Italy (S. Nicola in Bellegra and S. Sisto in Bellegra, S. Maria in Roiate and Seconda Cura SS. Salvatore in Roiate, and S. Maria Assunta in Rocca Santo Stefano)
Diocese of Tivoli, Italy (S. Andrea Apostolo in Subiaco, S. Andrea Apostolo (cura) in Subiaco, S. Maria Assunta della Valle in Subiaco, S. Francesco d'Assisi in Subiaco, S. Chelidonia in Subiaco contrada Vignola, S. Giuseppe in Subiaco, (Livata-Campo dell'Osso), S. Felicita ...)
Territory Added
2007Diocese of Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia (Sandakan and Tawau) Territory LostDiocese of Sandakan, Malaysia Erected
2012Diocese of Mangalore, India (Udupi, Kundapura, and Karkala) Territory LostDiocese of Udupi, India Erected


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_e, v3.2.3, 8 Feb 2020; Data: 17 Jun 2024