Catholic-Hierarchy DC

1st day of May

Diocese Events

St. Joseph the Worker (Opt. Memorial)

See Also: Bishop Events

560Cardinal Titular Church of Santi Filippo e Giacomo Name ChangedCardinal Titular Church of Santi XII Apostoli Name Changed
1298Diocese of Šibenik (Knin), Croatia Erected
1585Diocese of Wenden (Windau), Poland Erected
1818Diocese of Belluno, Italy
Diocese of Feltre, Italy
UnitedDiocese of Belluno e Feltre, Italy United
1818Archdiocese of Udine, Italy ElevatedDiocese of Udine, Italy (Archdiocese to Diocese) Elevated
1846Vicariate Apostolic of Japan Erected
1857Augustinians of the Assumption Decretum Laudis
1865Diocese of Karput (Armenian), Turkey Erected
1888Eparchy of Mardin (Syrian), Turkey UnitedEparchy of Mardin ed Amida (Syrian), Turkey United
1906Diocese of Belém do Pará, Brazil ElevatedArchdiocese of Belém do Pará, Brazil Elevated
1906Diocese of Mariana, Brazil ElevatedArchdiocese of Mariana, Minas Gerais, Brazil Elevated
1906Diocese of Goiás, Brazil (from São Sebastião do Rio de Janeiro) Metropolitan Changed
1917Congregation for Propagation of the Faith, Roman Curia EstablishedCongregation for the Oriental Churches, Roman Curia Established
1922Vicariate Apostolic of Kiangsu, China Name ChangedVicariate Apostolic of Nanking [Nanjing], China Name Changed
1923Diocese of Chelmno (Culma, Kulm), Poland
Archdiocese of Gniezno e Poznań, Poland
Territory LostApostolic Administration of Schneidemühl, Poland Erected
1925Diocese of Amazonas, Brazil (Eumaytà and Porto Velho)
Diocese of São Luíz de Cáceres, Mato Grosso, Brazil (San Antonio de Madeira)
Territory LostTerritorial Prelature of Porto Velho, Rondonia, Brazil Erected
1925Prefecture Apostolic of Rio Negro, Brazil ElevatedTerritorial Prelature of Rio Negro, Amazonas, Brazil Elevated
1925Diocese of Amazonas, Brazil (Labrea, Canutama, and Florian Peixoto) Territory LostTerritorial Prelature of Lábrea, Amazonas, Brazil Erected
1927Diocese of Cali, Colombia
Diocese of Pasto, Colombia
Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Tumaco, Colombia (Tumaco, Barbacoas, Iscuandé, Ricaurte, Guapi, and Puerto Merizalde) Erected
1928Diocese of Damão, India
Archdiocese of Goa, India
UnitedArchdiocese of Goa e Damão, India United
1929Diocese of Paraguay (o Ssma Assunzione)
Prefecture Apostolic of Pilcomayo, Paraguay
Territory LostDiocese of Concepción y Chaco, Paraguay Erected
1929Diocese of Paraguay (o Ssma Assunzione) Territory LostDiocese of Villarrica, Paraguay Erected
1929Diocese of Paraguay (o Ssma Assunzione) ElevatedArchdiocese of Asunción, Paraguay Elevated
1969Diocese of Ch’unch’ŏn, Korea (South) (Hoengseon and Pyeongchangmyeong, Mitamyeong, Daehwamyeong, and Bangrimmyeong (in Pyeongchang)) Territory LostDiocese of Wonju, Korea (South) Territory Added
1969Diocese of Cheongju {Ch’ongju}, Korea (South) (Jecheon and Danyang) Territory LostDiocese of Wonju, Korea (South) Territory Added
1973Nunciature to Côte d’Ivoire (from Senegal to Abidjan) Territory Added
1973Nunciature to Dahomey (from Dacaria) Territory Added
2010Apostolic Administration of Comores ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Archipelago of the Comores Elevated
2010Territorial Prelature of Ipil, Philippines ElevatedDiocese of Ipil, Philippines Elevated


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_e, v3.2.3, 8 Feb 2020; Data: 19 May 2024