Catholic-Hierarchy DC

14th day of November

Diocese Events

See Also: Bishop Events

1922Vicariate Apostolic of New Guinea Name ChangedVicariate Apostolic of Papua, Papua New Guinea Name Changed
1922Vicariate Apostolic of New Pomerania, Papua New Guinea Name ChangedVicariate Apostolic of Rabaul, Papua New Guinea Name Changed
1922Prefecture Apostolic of Western Kaiser-Wilhelms-Land, Papua New Guinea Name ChangedPrefecture Apostolic of Central New Guinea Name Changed
1930Diocese of Oklahoma, USA Name ChangedDiocese of Oklahoma City and Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA Name Changed
1939Prefecture Apostolic of Luapula Superiore, Congo (Dem. Rep.) ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Sakania, Congo (Dem. Rep.) Elevated
1946Mission "Sui Iuris" of San Andrés y Providencia, Colombia ElevatedPrefecture Apostolic of San Andrés y Providencia, Colombia Elevated
1946Prefecture Apostolic of Fort Victoria, Zimbabwe Erected
1951Ordinariate of Brazil, Faithful of the Eastern Rites Erected
1952Diocese of Cali, Colombia
Prefecture Apostolic of Tumaco, Colombia
Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Buenaventura, Colombia (Buenaventura) Erected
1952Prefecture Apostolic of Chocó, Colombia (Istmina, Tadó, Condoto, Nónita, S. José del Palmar, Baudó, and Nuquí) Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Istmina, Colombia Erected
1952Diocese of Antioquía, Colombia (Riosucio and Aeandi)
Prefecture Apostolic of Chocó, Colombia (Quibdó and Bagado)
Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Quibdó, Colombia Erected
1952Prefecture Apostolic of Chocó, Colombia (Pueblorrico and S. Antonio de Chami) Territory LostDiocese of Pereira, Colombia Territory Added
1956Vicariate Apostolic of Marocco o Marruecos, Morocco ElevatedArchdiocese of Tanger, Morocco Elevated
1956Titular See of Tingis Territory Added
1957Prefecture Apostolic of Esmeraldas, Ecuador ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Esmeraldas, Ecuador Elevated
1959Diocese of Amargosa, Bahia, Brazil (Parts of Andaraí)
Diocese of Barra (do Rio Grande), Bahia, Brazil (Seabra)
Diocese of Bonfim, Bahia, Brazil (Ireoê, Miguel Calmon, Morro do Chapéu, and Utinga)
Diocese of Caetité, Bahia, Brazil (Lencóis, Palmeiras, and parts of Andaraí)
Archdiocese of São Salvador da Bahia, Brazil (Baixa Grande, Ipirá, Ibiquera, Itaberaba, Macajuba, Mairi, Mundo Novo, Piritiba, and Rui Barbosa)
Territory LostDiocese of Ruy Barbosa (Rui Barbosa), Bahia, Brazil Erected
1988Diocese of Taunggyi, Myanmar (Kayah) Territory LostDiocese of Loikaw, Myanmar Erected
1988Archdiocese of Bangalore, India (Chitradurga)
Diocese of Chikmagalur, India (Shimoga)
Territory LostDiocese of Shimoga, India Erected
2014Diocese of Sankt Pölten, Austria (Portions of Hochstraß and Schwabendörfl in Altlengbach) Territory LostArchdiocese of Wien {Vienna}, Austria Territory Added


Home | Countries | Religious Men Women | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_e, v3.2.4, 30 Jun 2024; Data: 15 Jul 2024