Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Passo Fundo

Archidioecesis Passofundensis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Rodolfo Luís Weber, Archbishop
  • Antônio Carlos Altieri, S.D.B., Archbishop Emeritus

Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 13 April 2011
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • State: Rio Grande do Sul
  • Country: Brazil
  • Square Kilometers: 11,235 (4,339 Square Miles)
  • Conference Region: Sul 3
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Curia Diocesana, Rua Coronel Chicuta 436, 99010-051 Passo Fundo; C.P. 230, 99001-970 Passo Fundo, RS, Brazil
  • Telephone: (054)3045-9200

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Diocese of Passo Fundo
10 March 1951ErectedDiocese of Santa Maria (Passo Fundo, Carasinno, Sarandi, Getúlio Vargas, Erechim, and part of Marcelino Ramos) Diocese of Passo Fundo (erected)
27 April 1959Territory AddedArchdiocese of Porto Alegre (Guaporé and Casca along with Maria (of Marau)) Diocese of Passo Fundo
22 May 1961Territory LostDiocese of Passo Fundo (Cities of Constantina and Nonoai)
Diocese of Santa Maria (Cities of Frederico Westphalen, Campo Novo, Crissiumal, Humaitá, Irai, Palmeira das Missöes, Santo Augusto, Seberí, Tenente Portela, and Tres Passos)
Diocese of Frederico Westphalen (erected)
16 May 1966Territory AddedDiocese of Caxias (Nossa Senhora das Graças (in Our Lady of the Purification) and São José (in Saint John the Baptist)) Diocese of Passo Fundo
16 May 1966Territory LostDiocese of Passo Fundo (Santa Bárbara, Santa Teresinha, Nossa Senhora das Graças, Sao Jerónimo, Santa Ana (all in San Valentin) and São Paulo (in San Rochi)) Diocese of Caxias
27 May 1971Territory LostDiocese of Passo Fundo (Erexim, Getulio Vargas, Marcelino Ramos, Gaurama, Aratiba, Campinas do Sul, Erval Grande, Saö Valentim, Viadutos, Severiano de Almeida, Cotegipe, Jacutinga, Itatiba do Sul, and Mariano Moro) Diocese of Erexim (erected)
12 December 1997Territory AddedDiocese of Cruz Alta (Our Lady of Lourdes (in Nova Alvorada) and Santi Michaelis Arcangeli (in Itapuca)) Diocese of Passo Fundo
Archdiocese of Passo Fundo
13 April 2011ElevatedDiocese of Passo Fundo Archdiocese of Passo Fundo
17 June 2011Territory LostArchdiocese of Passo Fundo (Uauá) Diocese of Juazeiro


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Diocese of Passo Fundo
Archdiocese of Passo Fundo

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Diocese of Passo Fundo
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 43, Page 541, to Page 544
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 51, Page 649, and Page 650
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 58, Page 594, and Page 595
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 90, Page 297
  • Archdiocese of Passo Fundo
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 103, Page 442, and Page 443


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.7, 20 Apr 2024; Data: 9 Jun 2024