Catholic-Hierarchy DC

11th day of August

Diocese Events

St. Clare, virgin (Memorial)

See Also: Bishop Events

1536Diocese of México, Federal District Territory LostDiocese of Michoacán, México Erected
1664La Société des Missions Etrangères Approbation
1829Archdiocese of Québec, Canada (Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, and the Magdalen Islands) Territory LostDiocese of Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada Erected
1843Diocese of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA Territory LostDiocese of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA (Western Pennsylvania) Erected
1865Society of Mary Approbation
1903Diocese of Tlaxcala (Puebla de los Angeles), México ElevatedArchdiocese of Puebla de los Ángeles, México (Name Changed and Diocese raised to an Archdiocese) Elevated
1922Delegation to China Established
1926Prefecture Apostolic of Cook e Manihiki, Cook Islands, Pacific (Oceania) Name ChangedPrefecture Apostolic of Cook Islands, Pacific (Oceania) Name Changed
1926Vicariate Apostolic of Nanking [Nanjing], China (Haimen, Tsungmin, Nantung, Jukao, Taihing, and Tsingkiang) Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Haimen [Haimen], China Erected
1931Diocese of Melo, Uruguay Name ChangedDiocese of Florida-Melo, Uruguay Name Changed
1945Archdiocese of Acerenza e Matera, Italy Territory Added
1950Prefecture Apostolic of Alto Solimões, Brazil ElevatedTerritorial Prelature of Alto Solimões, Amazonas, Brazil Elevated
1950Prefecture Apostolic of Tefé, Brazil Territory LostTerritorial Prelature of Tefé, Amazonas, Brazil Erected
1950Diocese of Zamboanga, Philippines (Cotabato and Sulu) Territory LostTerritorial Prelature of Cotabato and Sulu, Philippines Erected
1956Diocese of Pamplona (-Tudela), Spain ElevatedArchdiocese of Pamplona (-Tudela), Spain Elevated
1956Diocese of Calahorra y La Calzada, Spain (from Burgos) Metropolitan Changed
1956Diocese of Jaca, Spain (from Zaragoza) Metropolitan Changed
1956Diocese of San Sebastián, Spain (from Burgos) Metropolitan Changed
1984Archdiocese of Pamplona (-Tudela), Spain Name ChangedArchdiocese of Pamplona y Tudela, Spain Name Changed
1984Diocese of Teruel (-Albarracín), Spain Name ChangedDiocese of Teruel y Albarracín, Spain Name Changed


Home | Countries | Religious Men Women | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_e, v3.2.4, 30 Jun 2024; Data: 3 Jul 2024