Catholic-Hierarchy DC

13th day of March

Diocese Events

See Also: Bishop Events

1249Order of Friar Servants of Mary Approbation
1566Cardinal Titular Church of San Trifone Established
1776Archdiocese of Esztergom, Hungary Territory LostDiocese of Banská Bystrica, Slovakia
Diocese of Rožňava, Slovakia
1776Archdiocese of Esztergom, Hungary ElevatedDiocese of Spiš, Slovakia Elevated
1786Diocese of Tarnów, Poland Erected
1853Vicariate Apostolic of Verapoly, India Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Mangalore, India Erected
1874Delegation to Persia Established
1891Fratelli dell’Istruzione Cristiana di Ploërmel Approbation
1918Prefecture Apostolic of Dutch Borneo {Borneo Olandese}, Indonesia ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Dutch Borneo {Borneo Olandese}, Indonesia Elevated
1925Vicariate Apostolic of Changteh [Changde], China (Lungshan, Sangehih, Lungshun, Paotsing, Yungsui, Kuchang, Shenchow, Luki, Cheriki, Supu, Kienehow, Fenghwang, Mayang, Yuenchow, Kiemjang, and Hwangchow) Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Shenchow, China Erected
1938Diocese of Chatham, New Brunswick, Canada Name ChangedDiocese of Bathurst in Canada, New Brunswick Name Changed
1938Prefecture Apostolic of Calabar, Nigeria Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Ogoja, Nigeria Erected
1952Prefecture Apostolic of Berbérati, Central African Republic ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Berbérati, Central African Republic Elevated
1952Archdiocese of Lagos, Nigeria (Ibadan and part of Oshogbo) Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Ibadan, Nigeria Erected
1952Prefecture Apostolic of Vientiane e Luang-Prabang, Laos ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Vientiane, Laos (and name change) Elevated
1963Archdiocese of Tegucigalpa, Honduras (Departments of Comayagua and La Paz) Territory LostDiocese of Comayagua, Honduras Erected
1971Archdiocese of Fortaleza, Ceara, Brazil (Apuiarés, General Sampaio, Irauçaba, Itapagé, Itapipoca, Paracuru, Pentecoste, Sao Luís do Cura, Trairi, and Uruburetama)
Diocese of Sobral, Ceara, Brazil (Itarema of Acaran)
Territory LostDiocese of Itapipoca, Ceara, Brazil Erected
1971Archdiocese of Fortaleza, Ceara, Brazil (Boa Viagem, Capistrano, Itapiúna, Itatira, Quixadá, and Quixeramobi) Territory LostDiocese of Quixadá, Ceara, Brazil Erected
1971Diocese of Sobral, Ceara, Brazil (Camocim, Carnaubal, Chaval, Granja, Gnaraciaba do Norte, Ibiapina, Sao Benedito, Tianguá, Ubajara, and Viçosa do Ceará) Territory LostDiocese of Tianguá, Ceara, Brazil Erected
1976Diocese of Northampton, England, Great Britain (Cambridgeshire, Norfolk, and Suffolk) Territory LostDiocese of East Anglia, England, Great Britain Erected
2001Eparchy of Saint Thomas the Apostle of Chicago (Syro-Malabar), Illinois, USA Erected
2001Diocese of Bissau, Guinea-Bissau (Baiata, Gabù, Quinara, Tombali, and Isola di Bolama) Territory LostDiocese of Bafatá, Guinea-Bissau Erected
2001Diocese of Niamey, Niger (Maradi, Tahoua, Agadès, Bilma, Diffa, and Zinder) Territory LostDiocese of Maradi, Niger Erected


Home | Countries | Religious Men Women | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_e, v3.2.4, 30 Jun 2024; Data: 6 Jul 2024